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		<title>Glossary of Terms</title>
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		<pubDate>Thu, 28 Apr 2011 15:24:50 +0000</pubDate>
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				<category><![CDATA[Glossary of Terms]]></category>

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		<description><![CDATA[Helping you understand the terms we use. 301 Redirect – A message that the URL has moved permanently. This is commonly used when a URL has a new location and will not be appearing again at the old URL. 302 Redirect – A “found” message. (Also referred to as a “temporary redirect.”) This form of [...]]]></description>
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<h1>Helping you understand the terms we use.</h1>
<p><span style="color: #000000;"><strong>301 Redirect</strong><strong> –</strong> A message that the URL has moved   permanently. This is commonly used when a URL has a new location and  will not  be appearing again at the old URL.<br />
<strong>302 Redirect</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A “found” message. (Also referred  to  as a “temporary redirect.”) This form of redirection is commonly  used — and in  some cases abused — when a URL has been moved to a  different location; but, it  will be returning to the original location  eventually.<br />
<strong>403 Server Code</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A “forbidden”  message. Prevents access to a URL and displays the reason for preventing  access.<br />
<strong>404 Server Code –</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> A “not found” message.  Server cannot find the URL requested.<br />
<strong>A</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"><br />
<strong>AJAX</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> <strong>–</strong> Stands for <em>Asynchronous JavaScript  and XML.</em> Ajax is a programming language that allows for the updating of   specific sections of content on a web page, without completely reloading  the  page.<br />
<strong>API</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Acronym for Application Programming   Interface. This is a program that advertisers create to manage their SEM   campaigns, bypassing the search engines’ interfaces.<br />
<strong>A/B Testing</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A/B testing, at its simplest, is   randomly showing a visitor one version of a page – (A) version or (B)  version –  and tracking the changes in behavior based on which version  they saw. (A)  Version is normally your existing design (“control” in  statistics lingo); and  (B) version is the “challenger” with one copy or  design element changed. In a  “50/50 A/B split test,” you’re flipping a  coin to decide which version of a  page to show. A classic example  would be comparing conversions resulting from  serving either version  (A) or (B), where the versions display different  headlines. A/B tests  are commonly applied to clicked-on ad copy and landing  page copy or  designs to determine which version drives the more desired result.<br />
<strong>Absolute URL’s Link</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Absolute URLs use the  full-path address, such as http://www.vastvision.com/page1.htm. (See also  Relative URL’s link.)<br />
<strong>Acquisition Strategy</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A process of finding   those potential customers who are in the market and ready to buy. The  attempt  to lead customers to a web site and to welcome them, answer  their questions and  close the sale.<br />
<strong>Ad</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Advertisements a searcher sees after   submitting a query in a search engine or web site search box. In PPC,  these ads  are usually text format, with a Title, Description and  Display URL. In some  cases, a keyword the searcher used in his or her  query appears boldfaced in the  displayed ad. Ads can be positioned  anywhere on a search results page; commonly  they appear at the top –  above the natural or organic listings – and on the  right side of the  page, also known as “Right Rail.”<br />
<strong>Ad Copy</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – The main text of a clickable search or   context-served ad. It usually makes up the second and third lines of a   displayed ad, between the Ad Title and the Display URL.<br />
<strong>Ad Title</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – The first line of text displayed in a  clickable search or context-served ad. Ad Titles serve as ad headlines.<br />
<strong>Affiliate Marketing</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Affiliate marketing  is a  process of revenue sharing that allows merchants to duplicate sales   efforts by enlisting other web sites as a type of outside sales force.   Successful affiliate marketing programs result in the merchant  attracting  additional buyers, and the affiliate earning the equivalent  of a referral fee,  based on click-through referrals to the merchant  site.<br />
<strong>Algorithm</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A set of rules that a search engine  uses to  rank listings in response to a query. Search engines guard  their algorithms  closely, as they are the unique formulas used to  determine relevancy.  Algorithms are sometimes referred to as the”secret  sauce.”<br />
<strong>ALT Text</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Also known as <em>alternative text or alt  attribute</em>.  An HTML tag (ALT tag) used to provide images with a text  description  in the event images are turned off in a web browser. The images  text  description is usually visible while “hovering” over the image. This tag   is also important for the web access of the visually impaired.<br />
<strong>Anchor Text</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Words used to link to a page, known  as  anchor text are an important signal to search engines to determine a  page’s  relevance.<br />
<strong>Arbitrage</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A practice through which web  publishers –  second tier search engines, directories and vertical  search engines – engage in  the buying and reselling of web traffic.  Typically, arbitrage occurs when such  publishers pool client budgets to  engage in PPC campaigns on Tier I search  engines (Google, Yahoo!,  MSN). If the publishers pay $0.10 per click for  traffic, they typically  resell those visitors to clients who bid $0.20 or more  for the same  keywords. Successful arbitrage requires that the arbitrageur must  pay  less per click than what the traffic sells for. The variation called   Affiliate Arbitrage involves a web site owner or blogger bidding on  keywords  from programs such as Yahoo! Search Marketing or Google  AdWords, who then links  the ads, either to their own web site, or  directly to a merchant site  displaying ads (from programs such as the  Yahoo! Publisher Network or Google  AdSense).<br />
<strong>Auction</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> <strong>Model</strong> <strong>Bidding</strong> – The most popular  type of PPC bidding. First, an advertiser  determines what maximum amount per  click they are willing to spend for a  keyword. If there is no competition for  that keyword, the advertiser  pays their bid, or less, for every click. If there  is competition at  auction for that keyword, then the advertiser with the  highest bid will  pay one penny more than their nearest competitor. For example,   advertiser A is willing to bid up to $0.50; advertiser B is willing to  bid up  to $0.75. If advertiser A’s actual bid is $0.23, then advertiser  B will only  pay $0.24 per click. Also referred to as market or  competition-driven bidding.<br />
<strong>Automatic</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> <strong>Optimization</strong> – Search  engines identify  which ad for an individual advertiser demonstrates the  highest CTR  (click-through rate) as time progresses, and then  optimizes the ad serve,  showing that ad more often than other ads in  the same Ad Group/Ad Order.<br />
<strong>B</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"><br />
<strong>B2B –</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> Stands for “Business to Business.” A business  that markets its services or products to other businesses.<br />
<strong>B2C –</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> Stands for “Business to<br />
Consumer.” A business that markets its services or products to consumers.<br />
<strong>Back links</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – All the links pointing at a particular  web page. Also called <em>inbound links</em>.<br />
<strong>Ban –</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> Also known as <em>Delisting</em>. Refers to a  punitive action imposed by a search engine in response to being spammed. Can be  an IP address of a specific URL<br />
<strong>Baseline Metrics</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Time-lagged  calculations (usually  averages of one sort or another) which provide a basis  for making  comparisons of past performance to current performance. Baselines  can  also be forward-looking, such establishing a goal and seeking to  determine  whether the trends show the likelihood of meeting that goal.  They become an  essential piece of a Key Performance Indicator (KPI).<br />
<strong>Behavioral Targeting</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – The practice of  targeting and  serving ads to groups of people who exhibit similarities not only  in  their location, gender or age, but also in how they act and react in  their  online environment. Behaviors tracked and targeted include web  site topic areas  they frequently visit or subscribe to; subjects or  content or shopping  categories for which they have registered, profiled  themselves or requested automatic  updates and information, etc.<br />
<strong>Bid</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – The maximum amount of money that an  advertiser  is willing to pay each time a searcher clicks on an ad. Bid prices  can  vary widely depending on competition from other advertisers and keyword   popularity.<br />
<strong>Bid Boosting</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A form of automated bid management   that allows you to increase your bids when ads are served to someone  whose age  or gender matches your target market. This level of  demographic focus and the  “bid boosting” tool are current Microsoft  adCenter offerings.<br />
<strong>Bid Management Software</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Software that manages  PPC  campaigns automatically, called either rules-based (with triggering  rules  or conditions set by the advertiser) or intelligent software  (enacting  real-time adjustments based on tracked conversions and  competitor actions).  Both types of automatic bid management programs  monitor and change bid prices,  pause campaigns, manage budget maximums,  and adjust multiple keyword bids based  on CTR, position ranking and  more.<br />
<strong>Black Box Algorithms</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – <em>Black box</em> is  technical jargon for a when system is viewed primarily in terms of input and  output characteristics. A <em>black box algorithm</em> is one where the user  cannot see the inner workings of the algorithm. All search engine algorithms  are hidden.<br />
<strong>Blacklists</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A list of Web sites that are  considered  off limits or dangerous. A Web site can be placed on a blacklist   because it is a fraudulent operation or because it exploits browser   vulnerabilities to send spyware and other unwanted software to the user.<br />
<strong>Blogs</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A truncated form for “web log.” A blog  is a  frequently updated journal that is intended for general public   consumption. They usually represent the personality of the author or web  site.<br />
<strong>Brand</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Customer or user experience represented by   images and ideas, often referring to a symbol (name, logo, symbols,  fonts,  colors), a slogan and a design scheme. Brand recognition and  other reactions  are created by the accumulation of experiences with the  specific product or  service, both from its use, and as influenced by  advertising, design and media  commentary.  Brand is often developed to  represent implicit values, ideas  and even personality.<br />
<strong>Brand and Branding</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – “A brand is a  customer  experience represented by a collection of images and ideas; often, it   refers to a symbol such as a name, logo, slogan, and design scheme.  Brand  recognition and other reactions are created by the accumulation  of experiences  with the specific product or service, both directly  relating to its use, and  through the influence of advertising, design,  and media commentary.”   (Added Definition) “A brand often includes an  explicit logo, fonts, color  schemes, symbols, sound which may be  developed to represent implicit values,  ideas, and even personality.”<br />
<strong>Brand</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> <strong>Lift</strong> – A measurable increase  in consumer  recall for a specific, branded company, product or service.  For example, brand  lift might show an increase in respondents who  think of Dell for computers, or  WalMart for “every household thing.”<br />
<strong>Brand Messaging</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Creative messaging  that presents and maintains a consistent corporate image across all media  channels, including search.<br />
<strong>Brand Reputation</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – The position a  company brand occupies.<br />
<strong>Branding Strategy</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – The attempt to  develop a strong  brand reputation on the web to increase brand recognition and  create a  significant volume of impressions.<br />
<strong>Bridge Page</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Often used to describe the web pages  that linked together many doorway pages on a web site. Also see: <em>Doorway  Page</em>, <em>Hallway Page.</em><br />
<strong>Bucket</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – An associative grouping for related  concepts,  keywords, behaviors and audience characteristics associated  with your company’s  product or service. A “virtual container” of  similar concepts used to develop  PPC keywords, focus ad campaigns and  target messages.<br />
<strong>Buying</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> <strong>Funnel</strong> – Also called the <em>Buying Cycle</em>, <em>Buyer Decision Cycle</em> and <em>Sales Cycle</em>,  Buying Funnel refers to a  multi-step process of a consumer’s path to  purchase a product – from awareness  to education to preferences and  intent to final purchase.<br />
<strong>Buzz Monitoring Services</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Services that will  email a  client regarding their status in an industry. Most buzz or publicity   monitoring services will email anytime a company’s name, executives,  products,  services or other keyword-based information on them are  mentioned on the  web.  Some services charge a fee; others, such as  Yahoo! and Google  Alerts, are free.<br />
<strong>Buzz</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> <strong>Opportunities</strong> – Topics popular  in the  media and with specific audiences that receive news coverage or  pass along  recommendations that help increase exposure for a brand.  Ways to uncover  potential buzz opportunities include reviewing incoming  traffic to a web site  from organic links and developing new keywords  to reach those visitors, or  scanning special interest blogs and social  media sites to learn what new topics  attract rising interest, also to  develop new keywords and messages.<br />
<strong>C</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"><br />
<strong>COA</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Acronym for Cost of Acquisition, which is how  much it costs to acquire a conversion (desired action), such as a sale.<br />
<strong>CPA</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Acronym for Cost Per Acquisition (sometimes  called  Cost Per Action), which is the total cost of an ad campaign  divided by the  number of conversions. For example, if a campaign cost  $100 and resulted in 5  conversions, the CPA is $20 ($100 / 5). It cost  $20 to generate one conversion.<br />
<strong>CPA or “Cost Per Acquisition”</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Also referred to as   “Cost Per Action.” This is a metric used to measure the total monetary  cost of  each sale, lead or action from start to finish.<br />
<strong>CPC</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Acronym for Cost Per Click, or the amount   search engines charge advertisers for every click that sends a searcher  to the  advertiser’s web site. For an advertiser, CPC is the total cost  for each  click-through received when its ad is clicked on.<br />
<strong>CPC</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> <strong>or “Cost Per Click”</strong> – Some  search  engines charge advertisers a cost for every click sent to their  web site. The  “CPC” is the total cost for each click received.<br />
<strong>CPM</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Acronym for Cost Per Thousand Impressions (ad   serves or potential viewers). Compare to CPC pricing (defined above).  CPM is a  standard monetization model for offline display ad space, as  well as for some  context-based networks serving online search ads to,  for example, web  publishers and sites.<br />
<strong>CPM or “Cost Per Thousand”</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A unit of measure   typically assigned to the cost of displaying an ad. If an ad appears on a  web  page 1,000 times and costs $5, then the CPM would be $5. In this  instance,  every 1,000 times an ad appeared, it would incur a charge of  $5.<br />
<strong>CPO</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Acronym for Cost Per Order. The dollar amount   of advertising or marketing necessary to acquire an order. Calculated by   dividing marketing expenses by the number of orders. Also referred to  as CPA  (Cost Per Acquisition).<br />
<strong>CTR</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Acronym for Click-Through Rate, the number of   clicks that an ad gets, divided by the total number of times that ad is   displayed or served. (Represented as: total clicks / total impressions  for a  specific ad = CTR). For example, if an ad has 100 impressions and  6 clicks, the  CTR is 6%. The higher the CTR, the more visitors your  site is receiving; CTR  also factors into you advertiser search engine  Quality Score and, therefore,  your minimum keyword bids on Tier I  engines.<br />
<strong>Campaign</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> <strong>Integration</strong> – Planning and  executing a  paid search campaign concurrently with other marketing  initiatives, online or  offline, or both. More than simply launching  simultaneous campaigns, true paid  search integration takes all  marketing initiatives into consideration prior to  launch, such as  consistent messaging and image, driving offline conversions,  supporting  brand awareness, increasing response rates and contributing to ROI   business goals.<br />
<strong>Canonicalization</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – The process of  picking the best  URL when there are several choices; this usually refers to  home pages.  In addition, “Canonicalization is the process of converting data  that  has more than one possible representation into a “standard” canonical   representation. This can be done to compare different representations  for  equivalence, to count the number of distinct data structures (e.g.,  in  combinatorics), to improve the efficiency of various algorithms by  eliminating  repeated calculations, or to make it possible to impose a  meaningful sorting  order.”<br />
<strong>Cascading Style Sheets or CSS –</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> An addition to your   HTML, a web site’s “cascading style sheet” contains information on  paragraph  layout, font sizes, colors, etc. A cascading style sheet has  many uses as far  as search engine optimization and web site design are  concerned.<br />
<strong>Click Bot –</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> A program generally used to artificially   click on paid listings within the engines in order to artificially  inflate  click amounts.<br />
<strong>Click Fraud</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Clicks on a Pay-Per-Click   advertisement that is motivated by something other than a search for the   advertised product or service. Click fraud may be the result of  malicious or  negative competitor/affiliate actions motivated by the  desire to increase costs  for a competing advertiser or to garner  click-through costs for the  collaborating affiliate. Also affects  search engine results by diluting the  quality of clicks.<br />
<strong>Click Through -</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> When a user clicks on a  hypertext link and is taken to the destination of that link<br />
<strong>Click Through Rate</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – The percentage of  those  clicking on a link out of the total number who see the link. For  example,  imagine 10 people do a web search. In response, they see links  to a variety of  web pages. Three of the 10 people all choose one  particular link. That link  then has a 30 percent click-through rate.  Also called CTR.<br />
<strong>Client-side Tracking</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Client-side tracking  entails  the process of tagging every page that requires tracking on the Web   site with a block of JavaScript code. This method is cookie based  (available as  first or third party cookies) and is readily available to  companies who do not  own or manage their own servers.<br />
<strong>Cloaking -</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> The process by which a web site can   display different versions of a web page under different circumstances.  It is  primarily used to show an optimized or a content-rich page to the  search  engines and a different page to humans. Most major search  engine  representatives have publicly stated that they do not approve of  this practice.<br />
<strong>Comment</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> <strong>-</strong> The text contained within a  “comment”  tag in a web page. “Comments” are used in a variety of  situations, such as  communication between web developers and Cascading  Style Sheets (See Above).<br />
<strong>Competitive Analysis</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – As used in SEO, CA is  the  assessment and analysis of strengths and weaknesses of competing web  sites,  including identifying traffic patterns, major traffic sources,  and keyword  selection.<br />
<strong>Consumer Generated Media (CGM)</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Refers to posts made   by consumers to support or oppose products, web sites, or companies,  which are  very powerful when it comes to company image. It can reach a  large audience  and, therefore, may change your business overnight.<br />
<strong>Content Management Systems (CMS)</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – In computing, a   content management system (CMS) is a document centric collaborative  application  for managing documents and other content. A CMS is often a  web application and  often it is used as a method of managing web sites  and web content. The market  for content management systems remains  fragmented, with many open source and  proprietary solutions available.<br />
<strong>Content Network</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Also called <em>Contextual  Networks</em>,  content networks include Google and Yahoo! Contextual Search  networks  that serve paid search ads triggered by keywords related to the page   content a user is viewing.<br />
<strong>Content Targeting</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – An ad serving process  in Google  and Yahoo! that displays keyword triggered ads related to the content   or subject (context) of the web site a user is viewing. Contrast to  search  network serves, in which an ad is displayed when a user types a  keyword into  the search box of a search engine or one of its partner  sites.<br />
<strong>Contextual Advertising</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Advertising that is   automatically served or placed on a web page based on the page’s  content,  keywords and phrases. Contrast to a SERP (search engine result  page) ad  display. For example, contextual ads for digital cameras  would be shown on a  page with an article about photography, not because  the user entered “digital  cameras” in a search box.<br />
<strong>Contextual Distribution</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – The marketing  decision to  display search ads on certain publisher sites across the web  instead  of, or in addition to, placing PPC ads on search networks.<br />
<strong>Contextual Network</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Also called <em>Content  Ads</em> and <em>Content Network</em><strong>,</strong> contextual network ads are served on  web site pages adjacent to  content that contains the keywords being bid upon.  Contextual ads are  somewhat like traditional display ads placed in print media  and, like  traditional ad buys, are often purchased on the same CPM (cost per   thousand impressions) model for purchased keywords, rather than a CPC  basis<br />
<strong>Contextual Search</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A search that  analyzes the page  being viewed by a user and gives a list of related search  results.  Offered by Yahoo! and Google.<br />
<strong>Contextual Search Campaigns</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A paid placement   search campaign that takes a search ad listing beyond search engine  results  pages and onto the sites of matched content web partners.<br />
<strong>Conversion Action</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – The desired action  you want a  visitor to take on your site. Includes purchase, subscription to the   company newsletter, request for follow-up or more information (lead   generation), download of a company free offer (research results, a video  or a  tool), subscription to company updates and news.<br />
<strong>Conversion Rate -</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> Conversion rates are  measurements  that determine how many of your prospects perform the prescribed  or  desired action step. If your prescribed response is for a visitor to  sign up  for a newsletter, and you had 100 visitors and 1 newsletter  signup, then your  conversion rate would be 1%. Typically,  micro-conversions (for instance,  reading different pages on your site)  lead to your main conversion step (making  a purchase, or signing up for  a service).<br />
<strong>Conversion Rate</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – The number of  visitors who convert  (take a desired action at your site) after clicking  through on your  ad, divided by the total number of click-through to your site  for that  ad. (Expressed as: total click-through that convert / total   click-through for that ad = conversion rate.) For example, if an ad  brings in 150  click-through and 6 of the 150 clicks result in a desired  conversion, then the  conversion rate is 4% (6 / 150 = 0.04). Higher  conversion rates generally  translate into more successful PPC campaigns  with a better ROI.<br />
<strong>Copyright</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Protection and ownership of works or   expressions fixed in a tangible form, including words, art, images,  sounds, and  music. Copyright gives the owner the exclusive right to  copy, display, license,  or expand the work. Copyrights cover virtually  any original expression; and the  protection arises under common law as  soon as the original expression is  created (fixed in tangible form).  However, proving ownership of the original  expression may be difficult  legally, unless the work was displayed or used  publicly at a verifiable  point in time.<br />
<strong>Crawler</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Automated programs in search engines that   gather web site listings by automatically crawling the web. A search  engine’s  crawler (also called a spider or robot) “reads” page text  contents and web page  coding, and also follows links to other  hyperlinked pages on the web pages it  crawls. A crawler makes copies of  the web pages found and stores these in the  search engine’s index, or  database.<br />
<strong>Crawler</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;">: Also known as a <em>bot</em> and <em>spider</em>,   a crawler is a program that search engines use to seek out information  on the  web. The act of “crawling” on a web site is referred to when  the crawler begins  to search through documents contained within the web  site. Also see <em>Index</em>.<br />
<strong>Creatives</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Unique words, design and display of a   paid-space advertisement. In paid search advertising, creative refers to  the  ad’s title (headline), description (text offer) and display URL  (clickable link  to advertiser’s web site landing page). Unique creative  display includes word  emphasis (boldfaced, italicized, in quotes),  typeface style and, on some sites,  added graphic images, logos,  animation or video clips.<br />
<strong>Custom Feed –</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> Create custom feeds for each of the   shopping engines that allow you to submit XML feeds. Each of the engines  has  different product categories and feed requirements.<br />
<strong>D</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"><br />
<strong>DHTML –</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> Stands for Dynamic Hypertext Markup Language.<br />
<strong>DKI</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Acronym for Dynamic Keyword Insertion, the   insertion of the EXACT keywords a searcher included in his or her search   request in the returned ad title or description. As an advertiser, you  have bid  on a table or cluster of these keyword variations, and DKI  makes your ad  listings more relevant to each searcher.<br />
<strong>DMCA</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Acronym for Digital Millennium Copyright Act.   “The Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA) is a United States  copyright law  which….criminalizes production and dissemination of  technology, devices, or  services that are used to circumvent measures  that control access to  copyrighted works (commonly known as DRM), and  criminalizes the act of  circumventing an access control, even when  there is no infringement of  copyright itself. [Circumvention of  controlled access includes unscrambling,  copying, sharing, commercial  recording or reverse engineering copyrighted  entertainment or  software.] It also heightens the penalties for copyright infringement   on the Internet.”<br />
<strong>Dayparting</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – The ability to specify different times   of day – or day of week – for ad displays, as a way to target searchers  more  specifically. An option that limits serves of specified ads based  on day and  time factors.<br />
<strong>Deep Linking</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Linking that guides, directs and links   a click-through searcher (or a search engine crawler) to a very  specific and  relevant product or category web page from search terms  and PPC ads.<br />
<strong>Description Tag -</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> Refers to the  information  contained in the description META tag. This tag is meant to hold  the  brief description of the web page it is included on. The information   contained in this tag is generally the description displayed immediately  after  the main link on many search engine result pages.<br />
<strong>Directory Search –</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> Also known as a <em>search  directory</em>.  Refers to a directory of web sites contained in an engine that  are  categorized into topics. The main difference between a search directory  and  a search engine is in how the listings are obtained. A search  directory relies  on user input in order to categorize and include a web  site. Additionally, a  directory usually only includes higher-level  pages of a domain.<br />
<strong>Display</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> <strong>URL</strong> – The web page URL that  one actually  sees in a PPC text ad. Display URL usually appears as the  last line in the ad;  it may be a simplified path for the longer actual  URL, which is not visible.<br />
<strong>Distribution Network</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A network of web  sites  (content publishers, ISPs) or search engines and their partner sites on   which paid ads can be distributed. The network receives advertisements  from the  host search engine, paid for with a CPC or CPM model. For  example, Google’s  advertising network includes not only the Google  search site, but also  searchers at AOL, Netscape and the <em>New York Post</em> online edition, among  others.<br />
<strong>Domain –</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> Refers to a specific web site address.<br />
<strong>Doorway Page –</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> A web page specifically created in  order  to obtain rankings within the natural listings of a search  engine. These pages  generally are filled with keywords and are meant to  funnel surfers into the  main web site. This practice is generally  considered an outdated spam tactic.  This term is not to be confused  with a “landing page.”<br />
<strong>Dynamic Landing Pages</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Dynamic landing pages  are  web pages to which click-through searchers are sent that generate   changeable (not static) pages with content specifically relevant to the  keyword  search. For example, if a user is looking for <em>trucks</em>,  then a dynamic  landing page with information and pictures on multiple  models and, possibly,  geographically localized dealerships might be  served. The term <em>truck</em> would trigger a data dump into a web site template for all possible vehicles  that serves all truck-related information.<br />
<strong>Dynamic Text (Insertion)</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – This is text, a  keyword  or ad copy that customizes search ads returned to a searcher by using   parameters to insert the desired text somewhere in the title or ad. When  the  search query (for example, “hybrid cars”) matches the defined  parameter (for  example, all brands of electric/gasoline passenger cars  AND SUVs), then the  associated term (hybrid) is plugged into the ad.  Dynamic insertion makes the ad  mirror exact terms used in the search  query, creating very relevant ads. See  also <em>DKI (Dynamic Keyword Insertion)</em>.<br />
<strong>E</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"><br />
<strong>eCPM</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Acronym for Effective Cost Per Thousand, a   hybrid Cost-Per-Click (CPC) auction calculated by multiplying the CPC  times the  click-through rate (CTR), and multiplying that by one  thousand. (Represented  by: (CPC x CTR) x 1000 = eCPM.) This  monetization model is used by Google to  rank site-targeted CPM ads (in  the Google content network) against  keyword-targeted CPC ads (Google  AdWords PPC) in their hybrid auction.<br />
<strong>Ecommerce -</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> Conducting commercial transactions on  the internet where goods, information or services are bought and sold.<br />
<strong>Editorial Review Process</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A review process for   potential advertiser listings conducted by search engines, which check  to  ensure relevancy and compliance with the engine’s editorial policy.  This  process could be automated – using a spider to crawl ads – or it  could be human  editorial ad review. Sometimes it’s a combination of  both. Not all PPC Search  Engines review listings.<br />
<strong>Entry Page –</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> Refers to any page within a web site  that a user employs to “enter” your web site. Also see <em>Landing Page</em>.<br />
<strong>Eye Tracking Studies</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Studies by Google,  Marketing  Sherpa and Poynter Institute using Eyetools technology to track the  eye  movements of web page readers, in order to understand reading and   click-through patterns.<br />
<strong>F</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"><br />
<strong>FAQ –</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> Stands for “Frequently Asked Questions.”<br />
<strong>F.F.A –</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> Stands for “Free for All” link pages. These  are  not search engines or directories. They are, for the most part,  pages that  simply take URL submissions that usually stay active for a  period of time. A  submission is placed at the top of their list and  then moved down, and  eventually out, as other submissions are made.  These are seen as outdated and were  used in an attempt to artificially  inflate link popularity.<br />
<strong>F.T.P</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Stands for “File Transfer Protocol.”<br />
<strong>Feeds</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A web document that is a shortened or updated   (revised content only) version of a web page created for syndication.  Usually  served at user request, through subscription; also includes ad  feeds to  shopping engines and paid-inclusion ad models. Ad feeds are  usually in  Extensible Markup Language (XML) or Rich Site Summary (RSS)  format.<br />
<strong>Flash –</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> “Flash technology has become a popular method   for adding animation and interactivity to web pages; several software  products,  systems, and devices are able to create or display Flash.  Flash is commonly  used to create animation, advertisements, various web  page components, to  integrate video into web pages, and more recently,  to develop rich internet  applications.”<br />
<strong>Frames</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – HTML technique that allows two or more pages   to display in one browser window. Many search engines had trouble  indexing web  sites that used frames, generally only seeing the contents  of a single frame.  See also “No Frames.”<br />
<strong>G</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"><br />
<strong>G.U.I</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Stands for “Graphical User Interface.” Means   a visual representation of the functional code. Or, is a way for the  average  web user to interface with a database, program, etc.<br />
<strong>Gateway page</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – See Doorway Page.<br />
<strong>Geo-Targeting</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – The geographic location of the   searcher. Geo-targeting allows you to specify where your ads will or  won’t be  shown based on the searcher’s location, enabling more  localized and  personalized results.<br />
<strong>H</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"><br />
<strong>.htaccess file</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A file with one or more  configuration  directives placed in a web site document directory. The  directives apply to  that directory and all subdirectories.<br />
<strong>HTTP</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Stands for “Hypertext Transfer Protocol.”<br />
<strong>HTTPS</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Stands for “Hypertext Transfer Protocol  Secure.”<br />
<strong>HTTP Referrer Data</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A program included in  most web  analytics packages that analyzes and reports the source of traffic to   the user’s web site. The HTTP referrer allows webmasters, site owners  and PPC  advertisers to uncover new audiences or sites to target or to  calculate conversions  and ROI for future ad campaigns.<br />
<strong>Head Terms</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Search terms that are short, popular   and straightforward; e.g., “helicopter skiing.” These short terms are  called  “head terms” based on a bell-curve distribution of keyword usage  that displays  the high numbers of most-used terms at the “head” end of  the bell curve graph.  See also <em>Tail Terms</em>.<br />
<strong>Hidden text –</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> (Also known as <em>Invisible text.</em>)   Text that is visible to the search engines but hidden to a user. It is   traditionally accomplished by coloring a block of HTML text the same  color as  the background color of the page. More creative methods have  also been employed  to create the same effect while making it more  difficult for the search engines  to detect or filter it. It is  primarily used for the purpose of including extra  keywords in the page  without distorting the aesthetics of the page. Most search  engines  penalize or ignore URLs from web sites that use this practice.<br />
<strong>Hit</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – The request or retrieval of any item located   within a web page. For example, if a user enters a web page with 5  pictures on  it, it would be counted as 6 “hits.” One hit is counted for  the web page  itself, and another 5 hits count for the pictures.<br />
<strong>I</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"><br />
<strong>IFRAME</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – “IFrame (from <em>inline frame</em>) is an  HTML  element which makes it possible to embed another HTML document  inside the main  document. The size of the IFrame is specified in the  surrounding HTML page, so  that the surrounding page can already be  presented in the browser while the  IFrame is still being loaded. The  IFrame behaves much like an inline image, and  the user can scroll it  out of view. On the other hand, the IFrame can contain  its own scroll  bar, independent of the surrounding page’s scroll bar.<br />
<strong>IPTV</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Acronym for Internet Protocol Television,   which delivers digital television service using the Internet Protocol  over a  network. IPTV delivery may be through a high capacity, high  speed broadband  connection. Compared to traditional broadcast and cable  television, IPTV may  offer new venues for PPC search advertisers  through program interfaces and  stored individual preferences.<br />
<strong>Impression</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – One view or display of an ad. Ad   reports list total impressions per ad, which tells you the number of  times your  ad was served by the search engine when searchers entered  your keywords (or  viewed a content page containing your keywords).<br />
<strong>Index</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A search engine’s “index” refers to the  amount of documents found by a search engines crawler on the web.<br />
<strong>Indexability -</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> Also known as <em>crawlability</em> and <em>spiderability</em>.   Indexability refers to the potential of a web site or its contents to  be  crawled or “indexed” by a search engine. If a site is not  “indexable,” or if a  site has reduced indexability, it has difficulties  getting its URLs included.<br />
<strong>IP</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> <strong>Address</strong> – “Dedicated and shared  IPs. –  (An IP address is) an identifier for a computer or device on a  TCP/IP network.  Networks using the TCP/IP protocol route messages based  on the IP address of  the destination. The format of an IP address is a  32-bit numeric address,  written as four numbers separated by periods.  Each number can be zero to 255.  For example, 1.160.10.240 could be an  IP address.”  (Added definition) An  IP Address can be dedicated for one  web site or shared by multiple web sites.<br />
<strong>IP</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> <strong>Address</strong> – Abbreviation for  Internet  Protocol Address, a unique combination of numbers assigned to  individual  electronic devices or networks that communicate over the  Internet. Basically,  it’s a trackable address for any computer, and it  can be used to localize  results (see <em>Geo-Targeting</em>). Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA)  oversees global IP address allocation.<br />
<strong>IP</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> <strong>Address</strong> <strong>Lookup</strong> – The process of  determining a unique Internet Protocol (IP) address.<br />
<strong>IASAPI_rewrite</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – ISAPI_rewrite is a powerful URL  manipulation  engine based on regular expressions. It acts mostly like  Apache’s mod_rewrite,  but is designed specifically for Microsoft’s  Internet Information Server (IIS).  ISAPI_rewrite is an ISAPI filter  written in pure C/C++ so it is extremely fast.  ISAPI_rewrite gives you  the freedom to go beyond the standard URL schemes and  develop your own  scheme.<br />
<strong>J</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"><br />
<strong>JavaScript</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – JavaScript is a scripting language   based on prototype-based programming. It is used on a web site as  client-side  JavaScript, and also to enable scripting access to objects  in other  applications.<br />
<strong>K</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"><br />
<strong>Keyword -</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> A single word that relates to a specific   subject or topic. For example, “glossary” would be a keyword for this  document.  See also <em>Keyword Phrase</em>.<br />
<strong>Keyword / Keyword Phrase</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A specific word or   combination of words that a searcher might type into a search field.  Includes  generic, category keywords; industry-specific terms; product  brands; common  misspellings and expanded variations (called <em>Keyword Stemming</em>), or  multiple words (called <em>Long Tail</em> for their lower CTRs but sometimes  better conversion rates). All might  be entered as a search query. For example,  someone looking to buy  coffee mugs might use the keyword phrase “ceramic coffee  mugs.” Also,  keywords – which trigger ad network and contextual network ad  serves –  are the auction components on which PPC advertisers bid for all Ad   Groups/Orders and campaigns.<br />
<strong>Keyword Density</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> <strong>-</strong> The number of   times a keyword or keyword phrase is used in the body of a page. This is  a  percentage value determined by the number of words on the page, as  opposed to  the number of times the specific keyword appears within it.  In general, the  higher the number of times a keyword appears in a page,  the higher its density.<br />
<strong>Keyword Phrase –</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> Two or more keywords  relating to a  specific topic. For example, “Mind numbingly boring glossary”  would be a  keyword phrase to describe this document.<br />
<strong>Keyword Stemming</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – To return to the root  or stem of a  word and build additional words by adding a prefix or suffix, or  using  pluralization. The word can expand in either direction and even add   words, increasing the number of variable options.<br />
<strong>Keyword Stuffing</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Generally refers to  the act of adding an inordinate number of keyword terms into the HTML or tags  of a web page.<br />
<strong>Keyword Tag</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Refers to the META keywords tag within   a web page. This tag is meant to hold approximately 8 – 10 keywords or  keyword  phrases, separated by commas. These phrases should be either  misspellings of  the main page topic, or terms that directly reflect the  content on the page on  which they appear. Keyword tags are sometimes  used for internal search results  as well as viewed by search engines.<br />
<strong>Keyword Targeting</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Displaying Pay Per  Click search ads on publisher sites across the Web (see also <em>Contextual  Networks</em>) that contain the keywords in a context advertiser’s Ad Group.<br />
<strong>KPI, Key Performance Indicators</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> — KPI are metrics  used  to quantify objectives that reflect the strategic performance of  your online  marketing campaigns. They provide business and marketing  intelligence to assess  a measurable objective and the direction in  which that objective is headed.  (See Module 5, Lesson 2, for key  definitions for general and SEO-specific  KPIs.)<br />
<strong>L</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"><br />
<strong>Landing Page / Destination Page</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – The web page at  which  a searcher arrives after clicking on an ad. When creating a PPC  ad, the  advertiser displays a URL (and specifies the exact page URL in  the code) on  which the searcher will land after clicking on an ad in  the SERP. Landing pages  are also known as “where the deal is closed,”  as it is landing page actions  that determine an advertiser’s conversion  rate success.<br />
<strong>Latent Semantic Indexing</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – LSI uses word  associations to help search engines know more accurately what a page is about.<br />
<strong>Lead Generation</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Web sites that  generate leads for  products or services offered by another company. On a lead  generation  site, the visitor is unable to make a purchase but will fill out a   contact form in order to get more information about the product or  service  presented. A submitted contact form is considered a lead. It  contains personal  information about a visitor who has some degree of  interest in a product or  service.<br />
<strong>Link Cardinality</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – See “Link  Popularity.”<br />
<strong>Link Farming –</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> The attempt to substantially and  artificially increase link popularity.<br />
<strong>Link Popularity</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Link popularity  generally refers  to the total number of links pointing to any particular URL.  There are  typically two types of link popularity: Internal and External.  Internal  link popularity typically refers to the number of links or pages   within a web site that link to a specific URL. External link popularity  refers  to the number of inbound links from external web sites that are  pointing to a  specific URL. If you have more “links” than your  competitors, you are typically  known to have link cardinality or link  superiority.<br />
<strong>Linkbait</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Also known as <em>link bait</em>, this is   something on your site that people will notice and link to. By linking  to your  site, other sites are saying they value the content of your  site and that they  think other people will be interested in it, too.<br />
<strong>Linking Profile</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A profile is a  representation of  the extent to which something exhibits various  characteristics. A  linking profile is the results of an analysis of where of  your links  are coming from.<br />
<strong>Log File</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – All server software stores information  about  web site incoming and outgoing activities. Web log files function  like the  “black box” that records everything during an airplane’s  flight. The log file  is usually in the root directory but it may also  be found in a secondary  folder. If you do not have permission to access  these files, then you will need  the help of the server administrator.<br />
<strong>Log File Analysis</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – The analysis of  records stored  in the log file. In its raw format, the data in the log files  can be  hard to read and overwhelming. There are numerous log file analyzers   that convert log file data into user-friendly charts and graphs. A good   analyzer is generally considered an essential tool in SEO because it  can show  search engine statistics such as the number of visitors  received from each  search engine, the keywords each visitors used to  find the site, visits by  search engine spiders etc.<br />
<strong>Long</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> <strong>Tail</strong> – Keyword phrases with at  least  three, sometimes four or five, words in them. These long tail  keywords are usually  highly specific and draw lower traffic than  shorter, more competitive keyword  phrases, which is why they are also  cheaper. Oftentimes, long tail keywords, in  aggregate, have good  conversion ratios for the low number of click-through they  generate.<br />
<strong>Long-tailed Keywords</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Keyword phrases with  at least 2 or 3 words in them.<br />
<strong>M</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"><br />
<strong>Meta</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> <strong>Feeds</strong> – Ad networks that pull  advertiser  listings from other providers. They may or may not have  their own distribution  and advertiser networks.<br />
<strong>META</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> <strong>Refresh redirect</strong> – A client-side  redirect.<br />
<strong>Metrics</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A system of measures that helps to quantify   particular characteristics. In SEO the following are some important  metrics to  measure: overall traffic, search engine traffic,  conversions, top  traffic-driving keywords, top conversion-driving  keywords, keyword rankings,  etc.<br />
<strong>Minimum</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> <strong>Bid</strong> – The least amount that  an  advertiser can bid for a keyword or keyword phrase and still be  active on the  search ad network. This amount can range from $0.01 to  $0.50 (or more for  highly competitive keywords), and are set by the  search engine.<br />
<strong>Mod_rewrite</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – URL Rewrite processes, also known as “<em>mod  rewrites</em>,”  are employed when a webmaster decides to reorganize a current  web  site, either for the benefit of better user experience with a new  directory  structure or to clean up URLs which are difficult for search  engines to index.<br />
<strong>Multivariate Testing</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A type of testing  that varies  and tests more than one or two campaign elements at a time to   determine the best performing elements and combinations. Multivariate  testing  can gather significant results on many different components of,  for example,  alternative PPC ad titles or descriptions in a short  period of time. Often it  requires special expertise to analyze complex  statistical results. (Compare to <em>A/B  Testing</em> which changes  only one element at a time, alternately serving an  “old” version ad and  a changed ad.) In search advertising, you might do A/B  Split or  Multivariate testing to learn what parts of a landing page (background   color, title, headline, fill in forms, design, images) produce higher   conversions and are more cost effective.<br />
<strong>N</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"><br />
<strong>Naked Links</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A posted and visible link in the text  of a web page that directs to a web site.<br />
<strong>Negative Keywords</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Filtered-out keywords  to prevent  ad serves on them in order to avoid irrelevant click-through charges   on, for example, products that you do not sell, or to refine and narrow  the  targeting of your Ad Group’s keywords. Microsoft adCenter calls  them “excluded  keywords.” Formatting negative keywords varies by search  engine; but they are  usually designated with a minus sign.<br />
<strong>No Frames Tag -</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> A tag used to describe  the content  of a frame to a user or engine which had trouble displaying /  reading  frames. Frequently misused and often referred to as “Poor man’s   cloaking”.<br />
<strong>No Script Tag -</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> The noscript element is  used to  define an alternate content (text) if a script is NOT executed. This   tag is used for browsers that recognizes the &lt;script&gt; tag, but  does not  support the script in it.<br />
<strong>NoFollow</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – NoFollow is an attribute webmasters can place  on links that tell search engines <strong>not to count</strong> the link as a vote or <strong>not  to send</strong><br />
</span> any trust to that site. Search engines will follow the link, yet it   will not influence search results. NoFollows can be added to any link  with this  code: “rel=”nofollow”.” <span style="color: #000000;"><strong>O</strong><br />
<strong>Organic Results</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Listings on SERPs  that were not  paid for; listings for which search engines do not sell space.  Sites  appear in organic (also called “natural”) results because a search  engine  has applied formulas (algorithms) to its search crawler index,  combined with  editorial decisions and content weighting, that it deems  important enough  inclusion without payment. <em>Paid Inclusion Content</em> is also often  considered “organic” even though it is paid advertising  because paid inclusion  content usually appears on SERPs mixed with  unpaid, organic results.<br />
<strong>Organic Search Listings</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Listings that search   engines do not sell (unlike paid listings). Instead, sites appear solely   because a search engine has deemed it editorially important for them  to be  included, regardless of payment. <em>Paid Inclusion Content</em> is also often  considered “organic” even though it is paid for. This is  because paid inclusion  content usually appears intermixed with unpaid  organic results.<br />
<strong>Organic Search Rankings</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Search engine ranking  of web pages found in SERPs.<br />
<strong>P</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"><br />
<strong>P4P</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Acronym for Pay for Performance also  designated as PFP. See also <em>PPC Advertising</em>.<br />
<strong>PFP</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Acronym for Pay for Performance; also  designated as P4P. See also <em>PPC Advertising</em>.<br />
<strong>PPC</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Acronym for Pay Per Click. See also <em>PPC  Advertising</em>.<br />
<strong>PPCSE</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Acronym for Pay-Per-Click Search Engine.<br />
<strong>PageRank (PR)</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – PR is the Google technology developed   at Stanford University for placing importance on pages and web sites.  At one  point, PageRank (PR) was a major factor in rankings. Today it is  one of  hundreds of factors in the algorithm that determines a page’s  rankings.<br />
<strong>Paid Inclusion</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Refers to the process of paying a  fee  to a search engine in order to be included in that search engine or  directory.  Also known as “guaranteed inclusion.” Paid inclusion does  not impact rankings  of a web page; it merely guarantees that the web  page itself will be included  in the index. These programs were  typically used by web sites that were not  being fully crawled or were  incapable of being crawled, due to dynamic URL  structures, frames, etc.<br />
<strong>Pay Per Call</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A model of paid advertising similar to   Pay Per Click (PPC), except advertisers pay for every phone call that  comes to  them from a search ad, rather than for every click-through to  their web site  landing page for the ad. Often higher cost than PPC  advertising; but valued by  advertisers for higher conversion rates from  consumers who take the action step  of telephoning an advertiser.<br />
<strong>Personas</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – These are “people types” or sub-groups  that  encompass several attributes, such as gender, age, location,  salary level,  leisure activities, lifestyle characteristics,  marital/family status or some  kind of definable behavior. Useful  profiles for focusing ad messages and offers  to targeted segments.<br />
<strong>Podcasts</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – “A <strong>podcast</strong> is a media  file that is  distributed over the internet using syndication feeds, for  playback on portable  media players and personal computers. Like  ‘radio,’ it can mean both the  content and the method of syndication.  The latter may also be termed <strong>podcasting</strong>.  The host or author of a podcast is often called a <strong>podcaster</strong>.”<br />
<strong>Position</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – In PPC advertising, position is the  placement  on a search engine results page where your ad appears  relative to other paid  ads and to organic search results. Top ranking  paid ads (high ranking 10 to 15  results, depending on the engine)  usually appear at the top of the SERP and on  the “right rail”  (right-side column of the page). Ads appearing in the top  three paid-ad  or Sponsored Ad slots are known as Premium Positions. Paid search  ad  position is determined by confidential algorithms and Quality Score  measures  specific to each search engine. However, factors in the  engines’ position  placement under some advertiser control include bid  price, the ad’s CTR,  relevancy of your ad to searcher requests,  relevance of your click-through  landing page to the search request, and  quality measures search engines  calculate to ensure quality user  experience.<br />
<strong>Position</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> <strong>Preference</strong> – A feature in  Google AdWords  and in Microsoft adCenter enabling advertisers to  specify in which positions  they would like their ads to appear on the  SERP. Not a position guarantee.<br />
<strong>PPC</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> <strong>Advertising</strong> – Acronym for  Pay-Per-Click  Advertising, a model of online advertising in which  advertisers pay only for  each click on their ads that directs searchers  to a specified landing page on the  advertiser’s web site. PPC ads may  get thousands of impressions (views or  serves of the ad); but, unlike  more traditional ad models billed on a CPM   (Cost-Per-Thousand-Impressions) basis, PPC advertisers only pay when  their ad  is clicked on. Charges per ad click-through are based on  advertiser bids in  hybrid ad space auctions and are influenced by  competitor bids, competition for  keywords and search engines’  proprietary quality measures of advertiser ad and  landing page content.<br />
<strong>PPC Management</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – The monitoring and maintenance of a   Pay-Per-Click campaign or campaigns. This includes changing bid prices,   expanding and refining keyword lists, editing ad copy, testing  campaign  components for cost effectiveness and successful conversions,  and reviewing  performance reports for reports to management and  clients, as well as results  to feed into future PPC campaign  operations.<br />
<strong>Q</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"><br />
<strong>Quality</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> <strong>Score</strong> – A number assigned by  Google to  paid ads in a hybrid auction that, together with maximum  CPC, determines each  ad’s rank and SERP position. Quality Scores  reflect an ad’s historical CTR,  keyword relevance, landing page  relevance, and other factors proprietary to  Google. Yahoo! refers to  the Quality Score as a Quality Index. And both Google  and Yahoo!  display 3- or 5-step indicators of quality evaluations for  individual  advertisers.<br />
<strong>Query</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – The keyword or keyword phrase a searcher   enters into a search field, which initiates a search and results in a  SERP with  organic and paid listings.<br />
<strong>R</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"><br />
<strong>ROAS</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Acronym for Return On Advertising Spending,   the profit generated by ad campaign conversions per dollar spent on  advertising  expenses. Calculated by dividing advertising-driven profit  by ad spending.<br />
<strong>ROI</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Acronym for Return On Investment, the amount   of money you make on your ads compared to the amount of money you spend  on your  ads. For example, if you spend $100 on PPC ads and make $150  from those ads,  then your ROI would be 50%. (Calculated as: ($150 –  $100) / 100 = $50 / 100 =  50 %.) The higher your ROI, the more  successful your advertising, although some  practitioners in search  advertising consider ROAS a more useful metric, as it  breaks down cost  and expenses by conversions per advertising dollar spent.<br />
<strong>RSS</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Acronym for Rich Site Summary or Real Simple  Syndication, a family of web feed a format that leverages <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/XML">XML</a> for distributing and sharing headlines and  information from other web content (also known as syndication).<br />
<strong>Rank</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – How well positioned a particular web page or   web site appears in search engine results. For example, if you rank at  position  #1, you’re the first listed paid or sponsored ad. If you’re in  position #18, it  is likely that your ad appears on the second or third  page of search results,  after 17 competitor paid ads and organic  listings. Rank and position affect  your click-through rates and,  ultimately, conversion rates for your landing  pages.<br />
<strong>Raw Data Feed</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Raw data is information that has been   collected but not formatted, analyzed or processed. This raw data can  be used  to build an optimized XML feed.<br />
<strong>Reciprocal Link –</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> Two different sites  that link out to each other. Also referred to as <em>Cross Linking</em>.<br />
<strong>Relative URL’s Link</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – <strong>Relative URLs</strong> link to just the file, for example, “page1.htm”. (See also Absolute URL’s  link.)<br />
<strong>Relevance</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – In relation to PPC advertising, relevance  is  a measure of how closely your ad title, description, and keywords  are related  to the search query and the searcher’s expectations.<br />
<strong>Reverse DNS –</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> A process to determine the hostname or  host associated with an IP or host address.<br />
<strong>Revshare</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> / <strong>Revenue</strong> <strong>Sharing</strong> – A method of  allocating per-click revenue to a site publisher and  click-through charges to a  search engine that distributes paid-ads to  its context network partners, for  every page viewer who clicks on the  content site’s sponsored ads. A type of <em>site  finder’s fee.</em><br />
<strong>Rich</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> <strong>Media</strong> – Media with embedded  motion or  interactivity. A growing option for PPC advertisers as rates  of broadband  connectivity increase.<br />
<strong>Right</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> <strong>Rail</strong> – The common name for the  right-side column of a web page. On a SERP, right rail is usually where  sponsored listings appear.<br />
<strong>Robots.txt</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A text file present in the root   directory of a website which is used to direct the activity of search  engine  crawlers. This file is typically used to tell a crawler which  portions of the  site should be crawled and which should not be crawled.<br />
<strong>RSS (Really Simply Syndication, Rich Site  Summary, RDF Site Summary)</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A family of web feed formats used for distributing  frequently  updated digital content, such as blogs, news, podcasts, and videos<br />
<strong>RSS Aggregators</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – <strong>“</strong>A client   software that uses web feed to retrieve syndicated web content such as  blogs,  podcasts, vlogs, and mainstream mass media websites, or in the  case of a search  aggregator, a customized set of search results….Such  applications are also  referred to as <em>RSS readers</em>, <em>feed readers</em>, <em>feed aggregators</em>, <em>news readers</em> or <em>search aggregators</em>. These have been recently  supplemented by the so-called <em>RSS-narrators</em> [such as TalkingNews or  Talkr] which not only aggregate news feeds but also converts them into  podcasts.”<br />
<strong>S</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"><br />
<strong>SEM</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Acronym for “Search Engine Marketing.” A form   of internet marketing that seeks to promote websites by increasing their   visibility in search engine result pages (SERPs).  SEM methods  include:  search engine optimization (SEO), paid placement, contextual  advertising,  digital asset optimization, and paid inclusion.  When this  term is used to  describe an individual, it stands for “Search Engine  Marketer” or one who performs  SEM.<br />
<strong>SEO</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Acronym for “Search Engine Optimization.”  This  is the process of editing a web site’s content and code in order to   improve visibility within one or more search engines. When this term is  used to  describe an individual, it stands for “Search Engine Optimizer”  or one who  performs SEO.<br />
<strong>SERP</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Acronym for Search Engine Results Page, the   page delivered to a searcher that displays the results of a search query   entered into the search field. Displays both paid ad (sponsored) and  organic  listings in varying positions or rank.<br />
<strong>SSP Feed</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – See <em>Search Submit Pro</em> and <em>Feeds</em>.<br />
<strong>Saturation (Search Engine Saturation) –</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> A term  relating to the  number of URLs included from a specific web site in any  given search engine.  The higher the saturation level or number of  pages indexed into a search  engine, the higher the potential traffic  levels and rankings.<br />
<strong>Search Directory</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Similar to a search  engine, in  that they both compile databases of web sites. A directory does not  use  crawlers in order to obtain entries in its search database. Instead, it   relies on user interaction and submissions for the content it  contains.  Submissions are then categorized by topic and normally  alphabetized, so that  the results of any search will start with site  descriptions that begin with some  number or non-letter character, then  moving from A-to-Z.<br />
<strong>Search Engines -</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> A search engine is a  database of  many web pages. Most engines display the number of web pages they  hold  in their database at any given time. A search engine generally “ranks”  or  orders the results according to a set of parameters. These  parameters (called  algorithms) vary among search engines; they are  always improving in order to  identify spam as well as improve  relevance. <em>See also SERP, Algorithm</em>.<br />
<strong>Search Funnel</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Movement of searchers, who tend to do   several searches before reaching a buy decision that works from broad,  general  keyword search terms to narrower, specific keywords.  Advertisers use the search  funnel to anticipate customer intent and  develop keywords targeted to different  stages. Also refers to potential  for switches at stages in the funnel when, for  example, searchers  start with keywords for a desired brand, but switch to other  brands  after gathering information on the category. Microsoft AdCenter tested a   search funnel keyword tool in 2006 to target keywords to search funnel  stages.<br />
<strong>Search Query</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – The word or phrase a searcher types   into a search field, which initiates search engine results page listings  and  PPC ad serves. In PPC advertising, the goal is to bid on keywords  that closely  match the search queries of the advertiser’s targets. See  also <em>Query</em>.<br />
<strong>Search Submit Pro (SSP)</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Search Submit Pro is   Yahoo!’s paid inclusion product that uses a “feed” tactic. With Search  Submit  Pro, Yahoo! crawls your web site as well as an optimized XML  feed that  represents the content on your site. Yahoo! applies its  algorithm to both the  actual web site pages and the XML feed to  determine which listing is most  appropriate to appear in the organic  search results when a user conducts a  search for relevant terms. Yahoo!  charges a CPC, determined by category, for  each time a listing  established through SSP is clicked.<br />
<strong>Secondary Links</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Links that are  indirectly acquired links, such as a story in a major newspaper about a new  product your company released.<br />
<strong>Semantic Clustering</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A technique for  developing  relevant keywords for PPC Ad Groups, by focusing tightly on keywords   and keyword phrases that are associative and closely related, referred  to as  “semantic clustering.” Focused and closely-related keyword  groups, which would  appear in the advertiser’s ad text and in the  content of the click-through  landing page, are more likely to meet  searchers’ expectations and, therefore,  support more effective  advertising and conversion rates.<br />
<strong>Server-side Tracking -</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;">- The process of  analyzing web  server log files. Server-side analytics tools make sense of raw  data  to generate meaningful reports and trends analysis.<br />
<strong>Session Id’s</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – dynamic parameters, such as session   IDs generated by cookies for each individual user.  Session IDs cause   search engines to see a different URL for each page each time that they  return  to re-crawl a web site.<br />
<strong>Share of Voice</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> –”A brand’s (or group of brands’)   advertising weight, expressed as a percentage of a defined total market  or  market segment in a given time period. SOV advertising weight is  usually  defined in terms of expenditure, ratings, pages, poster sites,  etc.”<br />
<strong>Siloing</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Siloing (also known as <em>Theming</em>) is  a  site architecture technique used to split the focus of a site into  multiple  themes. The goal behind siloing is to create a site that ranks  well for both  its common and more-targeted keywords.<br />
<strong>Site-Targeted Ads</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Site targeting lets  advertisers  display their ads on manually-selected sites in the search engine’s   content network for content or contextual ad serves. Site-targeted ads  are  billed more like traditional display ads, per 1000 impressions  (CPM), and not  on a Pay-Per-Click basis.<br />
<strong>Social Media</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> or <strong>Social Search</strong> – Sites where  users actively participate to determine what is popular.<br />
<strong>SPAM</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Any search marketing method that a search   engine deems to be detrimental to its efforts to deliver relevant,  quality  search results. Some search engines have written guidelines on  their  definitions and penalties for SPAM. Examples include doorway  landing pages  designed primarily to game search engine algorithms  rather than meet searcher  expectations from the advertiser’s clicked-on  ad; keyword stuffing in which  search terms that motivated a  click-through are heavily and redundantly repeated  on a page in place  of relevant content; attempts to redirect click-through  searchers to  irrelevant pages, product offers and services; and landing pages  that  simply compile additional links on which a searcher must click to get  any  information. Determining what constitutes SPAM is complicated by  the fact that  different search engines have different standards,  including what is allowable  for listings gathered through organic  methods versus paid inclusion (referred  to as spamdexing), whether the  listing is from a commercial or  research/academic source, etc.<br />
<strong>Spamming –</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> Spamming refers to a wide array of   techniques used to “trick” the search engines. These tactics generally  are  against the guidelines put forth by the search engines. Tactics  such as Hidden  text, Doorway Pages, Content Duplication and Link  Farming are but a few of many  spam techniques employed over the years.<br />
<strong>Spider –</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> See <em>Crawler.</em><br />
<strong>Splash Page</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Refers to an entry page or main page   of a web site that is interactive or graphically intense. Many splash  pages are  designed using Flash.<br />
<strong>Sponsored Listing</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A term used as a  title or column  head on SERPs to identify paid advertisers and distinguish  between  paid and organic listings. Alternate names are <em>Paid Listings</em> or <em>Paid  Sponsors</em>.  Separating paid listings from organic results enables searchers  to  make their own purchase and site trust decisions and, in fact, resulted  from  an FTC complaint filed by Commercial Alert in 2001 alleging that  the confusion  caused in consumers who saw mixed paid and unpaid results  constituted fraud in  advertising.<br />
<strong>Statistical Validity</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – The degree to which  an  observed result, such as a difference between two measurements, can be   relied upon and not attributed to random error in sampling or in  measurement.  Statistical Validity is important to the reliability of  test results, particularly  in Multivariate Testing methods.<br />
<strong>Stop Word</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> A word that often appears in a page’s copy  or  content, but it has no significance by itself. Examples of stop  words are: and,  the, of, etc.<br />
<strong>Submission -</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> The act of submitting a web site to   search engines and search directories. For some search engines, this is   performed simply by typing in the absolute home page URL of the web  site you  wish to submit. Other engines and directories request that  descriptions of the  web site be submitted for approval.<br />
<strong>Super Verbs</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Compelling verbs that trigger emotions  or visual images.<br />
<strong>T</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"><br />
<strong>TLP</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Acronym for Top Level Page, a reference to  the  home page, category pages, or product pages that have unique value for  the  site and so are structured in the top levels of the site directory.<br />
<strong>TLP Feed</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Acronym for Top Level Page feed, the often   automatic and on-subscription feed of an advertiser’s home page or  unique  category pages. See also <em>Feeds</em>.<br />
<strong>Tail Terms</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Search terms that are very specific,   long phrases that include one or more modifiers, such as “cheapest  helicopter  skiing near Banff BC.” These longer, more specific terms are  called “tail  terms” based on a bell-curve distribution of keyword  usage that displays the  low numbers of little-used terms at the “tail”  end of the bell curve graph.  (See “The Long Tail” by <em>Wired</em> editor Chris Anderson.) Although long,  specific and lesser-used tail  terms have low CTRs, they are less competitive  (and therefore cheaper)  and often catch buyers at the end of the purchase  decision process.  This means that, even with low click-through numbers, tail  terms can  have good conversion rates. See also <em>Head Terms</em>.<br />
<strong>Targeting</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Narrowly focusing ads and keywords to  attract  a specific, marketing-profiled searcher and potential customer.  You can target  to geographic locations (geo-targeting), by days of the  week or time of day  (dayparting), or by gender and age (demographic  targeting). Targeting features  vary by search engine. Newer ad  techniques and software focus on behavioral  targeting based on web  activity and behaviors that are predictive for potential  customers who  might be more receptive to particular ads.<br />
<strong>Themes</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A theme is an overall idea of what a web  page  is focused on. Search engines determine the theme of a web page  through  analysis in the algorithm of the density of associated words on  a page.<br />
<strong>Tier</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> <strong>I Search Engines</strong> – The top  echelon, or  top three, search engines that serve the vast majority of  searcher queries.  Also referred to as Major Engines, Top Tier Engines  or GYM, for Google, Yahoo!  and Microsoft Live Search.<br />
<strong>Tier II Search Engines</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Smaller, vertical and   specialized engines, including general engines, such as Ask.com and AOL;   meta-engines that search and display results from other search  engines, such as  Dogpile; local engines, shopping and comparison  engines, and business vertical  engines. Tier II Search Engines don’t  offer the search query market share or  features of the Tier I engines;  however, Tier II engines can target specific,  niche markets and are  usually lower cost.<br />
<strong>Tier III Search Engines</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Contextual  distribution  networks, through which marketers’ ads appear on pages within the  PPC  engine’s content network, triggered by user web site page views at the   moment that contain the advertiser’s keyword in its content. Cost is  usually  through Cost-Per-Thousand-Impressions (CPM) charges, rather  than Pay Per Click  (PPC). As discussed in Fundamentals coursework,  Google’s contextual  distribution program is called AdSense; Yahoo!’s  called Content Match.<br />
<strong>Title Tag</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – An HTML tag appearing in the &lt;head&gt; tag  of a web page that contains the page title. The page title <em>should</em> be  determined by the relevant contents of that specific web page. The  contents of  a title tag for a web page is generally displayed in a  search engine result as  a bold blue underlined hyperlink.<br />
<strong>Trackbacks</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A protocol that allows a blogger to   link to posts, often on other blogs, that relate to a selected subject.   Blogging software that supports Trackback includes a “TrackBack URL”  with each  post that displays other blogs that have linked to it.<br />
<strong>Tracking</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> <strong>URL</strong> – A specially designed  and/or unique  URL created to track an action or conversion from paid  advertising. The URL can  include strings that will show what keyword  was used, what match type was  triggered, and what search engine  delivered the visitor.<br />
<strong>Trademarks</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Distinctive symbols, pictures or words   that identify a specific product or service. Received through  registration with  the U.S. Patent &amp; Trademark Office. Tier I search  engines prohibit bids on  trademarks as keywords if the bidder is not  the legal owner, though this  keyword bid practice is still allowed by  Google.<br />
<strong>Traffic</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Refers to the number of visitors a website  receives. It can be determined by examination of web logs.<br />
<strong>Traffic Analysis</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – The process of  analyzing traffic  to a web site to understand what visitors are searching for  and what is  driving traffic to a site.<br />
<strong>Trusted Feed –</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> Also known as <em>Paid Inclusion,</em> a  trusted feed is a fee-based custom crawl service offered by some  search  engines. These results appear in the “organic search results” of  the engine.  Typically, the fee is based on a “cost per click,”  depending on the category of  site content. It has been called a  “Trusted Feed” due to the ability to  actually alter the content in the  feed, without changing the existing website.<br />
<strong>TXT//AD</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Text ads as mobile device text messages.<br />
<strong>U</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"><br />
<strong>USPTO</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Acronym for United States Patent &amp;  Trademark Office. See also <em>Trademarks</em>.<br />
<strong>Unique Visitor</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Identifies an actual web surfer (as   opposed to a crawler) and is tracked by a unique identifiable quality   (typically IP address). If a visitor comes to a web site and clicks on  100  links, it is still only counted as one unique visit.<br />
<strong>Usability –</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> This term refers to how “user friendly”  a  web site and its functions are. A site with good usability is a site  that  makes it easy for visitors to find the information they are  looking for or to  perform the action they desire. Bad usability is  anything that causes confusion  or problems for the user. For example,  large Flash animations served to a  visitor with a dial up connection  causes poor usability. Easy, intuitive  navigation and clear,  informative text enhance usability.<br />
<strong>User Agent</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – This is the identity of a web site   visitor, spider, browser, etc. The most common user agents are Mozilla  and  Internet Explorer.<br />
<strong>V</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"><br />
<strong>Value</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> <strong>Propositions</strong> – “A customer  value  proposition is the sum total of benefits a customer is promised  to receive in  return for his or her custom and the associated payment  (or other value  transfer).“ A customer value proposition is what is  promised by a company’s  marketing and sales efforts, and then fulfilled  by its delivery and customer  service processes.”<br />
<strong>Vertical</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> <strong>Creep</strong> – Positioning trends  when vertical  listings appear at the top of organic search engine  results and below top  sponsored listings (when they are displayed on  the SERP).<br />
<strong>Vertical Portal / Vortal</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Search engines that  focus  on a specific industry or sector. Such vertical search engines (also   called “vortals”) have much more specific indexes and provide narrower  and more  focused search results than the Tier I search engines.<br />
<strong>Verticals</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A vertical is a specific business group  or  category, such as insurance, automotive or travel. Vertical search  offers  targeted search options and PPC opportunities to a specific  business category.<br />
<strong>Viral Marketing</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Also called <em>viral  advertising,</em> viral marketing refers to marketing techniques that use  pre-existing  social networks to produce increases in brand awareness. The  awareness  increases are the result of self-replicating viral processes,  analogous  to the spread of pathological and computer viruses. It can often be   word-of-mouth delivered and enhanced online; it can also harness the  network  effect of the internet and can be very useful in reaching a  large number of  people rapidly.<br />
<strong>W</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"><br />
<strong>Web Forwarding</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Web forwarding allows for redirects to  exist within an <strong>.htaccess</strong> file on a separate server.<br />
<strong>Web</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> <strong>Server</strong> <strong>Logs</strong> –  Most web server  software, and all good web analytics packages, keep a  running count of all  search terms used by visitors to your site. These  running counts are kept in  large text files called <em>Log Files</em> or <em>Web Server Logs</em>. Useful for  developing and refining PPC campaign keyword lists.<br />
<strong>Web</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> <strong>TV</strong> – Television set-top boxes  that allow  users to browse the Internet from their televisions without a  computer system.  Perennial future opportunity as new PPC ad channel  offering the option to use  rich media formats.<br />
<strong>Wiki</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> — Software that allows people to contribute   knowledge on a particular topic. A wiki is another web publishing  platform that  makes use of technologies similar to blogs and also  allows for collaboration  with multiple people.<br />
<strong>Wikipedia</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – “Wikipedia is a multilingual, web-based,  free  content encyclopedia project. Wikipedia is written collaboratively  by  volunteers; its articles can be edited by anyone with access to the  web site.”<br />
<strong>Word Count</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – The total number of words contained  within a web document.<br />
<strong>X</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"><br />
<strong>XML</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – Stands for “Extensible Markup Language,” a  data delivery language.<br />
<strong>XML Feeds</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – A form of paid inclusion in which a  search  engine is fed information about an advertiser’s web pages via  XML, rather than  requiring that the engine gather that information  through crawling actual  pages. Marketers pay to have their pages  included in a spider-based search  index based on an XML format document  that represents each page on the  advertiser site. Advertisers pay  either annually per URL or on a CPC basis –  and are assured of frequent  crawl cycles. New media types are being introduced  into paid  inclusion, including graphics, video, audio, and rich media.<br />
<strong>XML Feeds –</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> A form of paid inclusion where a search   engine is “fed” information about pages via XML, rather than gathering  that  information through crawling actual pages. Marketers can pay to  have their  pages included in a spider-based search index either  annually (per URL), or on  a CPC basis (based on an XML document  representing each page on the client  site). New media types are being  introduced into paid inclusion, including  graphics, video, audio, and  rich media.<br />
<strong>XML Maps</strong></span> <span style="color: #000000;"> – XML maps are specially formatted links to  your pages. They will never replace the need for HTML site maps.</span></p>
</div>
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		<title>Search Engine Optimization (S.E.O.)</title>
		<link>http://208designs.com/search-engine-optimization-s-e-o/</link>
		<comments>http://208designs.com/search-engine-optimization-s-e-o/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 28 Apr 2011 15:22:16 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>admin</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Search Engine Optimization]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://208designs.com/sites/208test/?p=178</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Search Engine Optimization is really just a question of supply and demand, it follows the trends of all industries, if housing is up, so too are the searches. If the holidays are approaching, you can bank on the fact that searches for hotels in your geographic region are going to climb considerably. It amazes us [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><span style="color: #000000;">Search Engine Optimization is  really just a question of supply and  demand, it follows the trends of all  industries, if housing is up, so  too are the searches. If the holidays are  approaching, you can bank on  the fact that searches for hotels in your geographic  region are going  to climb considerably.</span></p>
<p><span style="color: #000000;">It amazes us to see companies  continuing to spend marketing dollars on  traditional forms of media. Like the  resorts that spend big on  billboard advertising 20 miles outside the radius of  the city, so that  the passing cars will see their brand, even though, the  occupants have  already bought and paid for their accommodation. Now it could be  argued  there is a branding issue at hand, but lets not get into semantics.</span></p>
<p><span style="color: #000000;">The fact is, SEO is by far  the single most effective way to make sure  you are in front of your prospect at  the exact time they are looking to  purchase – the service providers who win at  this game, will win the  marketing race that no billboard will ever be able to  deliver, with the  possible exception of one of those Time Square Electronic Sky  Scrapper  Billboards, those things are amazing!</span></p>
<p><span style="color: #000000;">Unfortunately, not all business owners and managers understand in the  full scope the importance of online exposure. Top search engine  placement for  targeted keywords will allow you be always in front of prospective  clients eyes as well as help you improve your business and brand  awareness.  Professional website optimization could be a smart marketing investment  as Internet is the most widely used media and continue to expand even  more,  so why not to take advantage of this growing market with enormous  potential?</span></p>
<p><span style="color: #000000;">Organic search engine optimization vs. PPC (Pay Per Click)</span></p>
<p><span style="color: #000000;">When you&#8217;re searching for something, for example, in Google.com you get  results based on their relevancy to your query entered. Those results  that  are shown at the left side are considered to be &#8220;free&#8221;, &#8220;natural&#8221; or  &#8220;organic&#8221;, meaning that they&#8217;re ranked in accordance with a search  engine algorithm.  As opposite, on the right and at the very top (marked out by another  color) are Sponsored Links – paid results based on PPC scheme. In  accordance with  the statistics data, 75% of users prefer visiting free organic search  results rather than paid advertising. This means that 3 of every 4  visitors using  Google.com for their search could be your prospective clients, if you  rank in the top 10 for your targeted keywords.</span></p>
<p><span style="color: #000000;">We will make a keyword research for you to ensure that only relevant and  high traffic queries that describe your specific products or services  will be  promoted during our organic search engine optimization process. In such a  way you&#8217;ll attract maximum volume of relevant traffic and expand your  online  presence to the new heights.</span></p>
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		<title>Content Management (CMS)</title>
		<link>http://208designs.com/content-management-cms/</link>
		<comments>http://208designs.com/content-management-cms/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 28 Apr 2011 14:46:35 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>admin</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Content Management]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://208designs.com/sites/208test/?p=160</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Our content management system, (CMS) is powerful, flexible and user-friendly. Its WYSIWYG interface includes a spell checker and lets you effortlessly update website content. You’ll be able to… • Add/edit Text • Add/delete pictures • Create Forms • PDF&#8217;s, White Papers and Document Management • Rich Media • Simple External Link Creation CMS features include: [...]]]></description>
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<td align="left" valign="top"><span style="color: #000000;">Our  content management system, (CMS) is powerful, flexible and  user-friendly. Its WYSIWYG interface includes a spell checker and lets  you effortlessly update website content. You’ll be able to…</span></p>
<p><span style="color: #000000;"><br />
</span></p>
<p><span style="color: #000000;">•	Add/edit Text<br />
•	Add/delete pictures<br />
•	Create Forms<br />
•	PDF&#8217;s, White Papers and Document Management<br />
•	Rich Media<br />
•	Simple External Link Creation</span></p>
<p><span style="color: #000000;"><strong>CMS features include: </strong></span></p>
<p><span style="color: #000000;">•	Dynamic form builders<br />
•	Business or organizational directories<br />
•	Document management<br />
•	Image and multimedia galleries<br />
•	Calendars<br />
•	Directory services<br />
•	Email newsletters<br />
•	Data collection and reporting tools<br />
•	Banner advertising systems<br />
•	Subscription services</span></p>
<p><span style="color: #000000;">Most companies would like to have this option, and our CMS is standard with all of our designs.</span></p>
<p><span style="color: #000000;">Give us a call and we&#8217;ll walk you through it.</span></td>
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		<title>E-Commernce Platforms..We’re Your Solution.</title>
		<link>http://208designs.com/beautiful-examples-of-transparent-screen-trick-photos/</link>
		<comments>http://208designs.com/beautiful-examples-of-transparent-screen-trick-photos/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 15 Sep 2010 00:33:40 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>admin</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[E-Commerce]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Web Design]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://your_website_url_here/?p=76</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[With 300 million potential customers online 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, the future of commerce is most certainly online. 208 Designs offers numerous platforms for your needs. Easy to use E commerce solutions are complete with secure and reliable shopping cart payment systems, easy to use while at the same time giving [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><span style="color: #000000;">With 300 million potential customers online 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, the future of commerce is most certainly online.</span></p>
<p><span style="color: #000000;">208 Designs offers numerous platforms for your needs. Easy to use E commerce solutions are complete with secure and reliable shopping cart payment systems, easy to use while at the same time giving your company a unique store front, bringing your first time customers back for a second look.</span></p>
<p><span style="color: #000000;">Our most important service is consulting our clients on how to reap the rewards from their E commerce investment, this is your store for on the web, it needs to work for you! At 2l0l8 Designs we provide consultation to help identify the most effective manner in which to implement an E commerce solutions and help your business expand its market share in today’s demanding climate.</span></p>
<p><span style="color: #000000;">For a free quote please contact us.</span></p>
<p><span style="color: #000000;">Our package:</span></p>
<p><span style="color: #000000;">Each of our E commerce websites comes complete with an admin login where you will have the following features:</span></p>
<p><span style="color: #000000;">* Administration / Back end Functionality<br />
* Supports unlimited products and categories<br />
* Products-to-categories structure<br />
* Categories-to-categories structure<br />
* Add/Edit/Remove categories, products, manufacturers, customers, and reviews<br />
* Support for physical (shippable) and virtual (downloadable) products<br />
* Administration area secured with a username and password defined during installation<br />
* Contact customers directly via email or newsletters<br />
* Easily backup and restore the database<br />
* Print invoices and packaging lists from the order screen<br />
* Statistics for products and customers<br />
* Multilingual support<br />
* Multicurrency support<br />
* Automatically update currency exchange rates<br />
* Select what to display, and in what order, in the product listing page<br />
* Support for static and dynamic banners with full statistics<br />
* Customer / Frontend Functionality<br />
* All orders stored in the database for fast and efficient retrieval<br />
* Customers can view their order history and order statuses<br />
* Customers can maintain their accounts<br />
* Address book for multiple shipping and billing addresses<br />
* Temporary shopping cart for guests and permanent shopping cart for customers<br />
* Fast and friendly quick search and advanced search features<br />
* Product reviews for an interactive shopping experience<br />
* Foreseen checkout procedure<br />
* Secure transactions with SSL<br />
* Number of products in each category can be shown or hidden<br />
* Global and per-category bestseller lists<br />
* Display what other customers have ordered with the current product shown<br />
* Breadcrumb trail for easy site navigation<br />
* Product Functionality<br />
* Dynamic product attributes relationship<br />
* HTML based product descriptions<br />
* Automated display of specials<br />
* Control if out of stock products can still be shown and are available for purchase<br />
* Customers can subscribe to products to receive related emails/newsletters<br />
* Payment Functionality<br />
* Accept numerous offline payment processing (cheque, money orders, offline credit care processing, ..)<br />
* Accept numerous online payment processing (2CheckOut, PayPal, Authorize.net, iPayment, ..)<br />
* Disable certain payment services based on a zone basis<br />
Shipping Functionality<br />
* Weight, price, and destination based shipping modules<br />
* Real-time quotes available (UPS, USPS, FedEx, ..)<br />
* Free shipping based on amount and destination<br />
* Disable certain shipping services based on a zone basis<br />
* Tax Functionality<br />
* Flexible tax implementation on a state and country basis<br />
* Set different tax rates for different products<br />
* Charge tax on shipping on a per shipping service basis</span></p>
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